Back to All Events

WEBINAR: What Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Organizations Can do to Address Human Trafficking

Event sponsored and hosted by Futures Without Violence. This is a courtesy notice.

What Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Organizations Can do to Address Human Trafficking

Date: Thursday, January 31, 2019

Time: 11:00 a.m. PT, 12:00 p.m MT, 1:00 p.m. CT, 2:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 a.m. AKST, 9:00 a.m. HST (90 minutes)

Presented by Futures Without Violence

*Closed captioning will be provided

Registration link:  https://ta2ta.org/webinars/registration/what-domestic-violence-and-sexual-assault-organiza.html 

Webinar Overview:

Many victims/survivors of human trafficking have also been sexually assaulted or battered by an intimate partner.  Domestic violence and sexual assault service providers provide assistance to survivors of human trafficking as well, sometimes unknowingly and without adequate training to address the unique needs of human trafficking survivors.  Presenters will highlight ten things that domestic violence and sexual assault service organizations can do to better support survivors of human trafficking, and will share tools and resources to assist OVW grantees in enhancing their assistance to human trafficking survivors.   

As a result of this webinar, participants will be better able to:

  • Describe the intersections of human trafficking with domestic violence and sexual assault, and the unique needs of survivors of human trafficking.

  • Identify strategies to address human trafficking within domestic and sexual assault organizations, and in collaboration with others in your community.

Presenters:

Perla P. Flores, Community Solutions & South Bay Coalition to End Human Trafficking. 

Perla P. Flores, J.D., MPA, is the director of the domestic violence, sexual assault, and human trafficking programs at Community Solutions, a non-profit human services agency serving Santa Clara County and San Benito County in California.  Perla is a commissioner on the Santa Clara County Domestic Violence Council and she chairs the South Bay Coalition to End Human Trafficking.  Ms. Flores was recipient of the 2010 California Peace Prize and 2015 Outstanding Advocate Award. 

 

Monica Arenas, Futures Without Violence

Monica Arenas is a Senior Program Specialist at Futures Without Violence, working on the Rights and Social Justice Project and Legal Program.  Ms. Arenas has participated in the development and implementation of training programs, as well as technical assistance on building collaborations to assist adult victims of human trafficking and organizational sustainability of programs working with underserved communities. 


If you have any questions, please email Monica Arenas at marenas@futureswithoutviolence.org.

For information and resources on anti-human trafficking please visit the FUTURES website. 

As space is limited, the webinar will be recorded and available after the presentation at:  https://www.futureswithoutviolence.org/resources-events/webinars/

This project is supported by Grant No. 2015-TA-AX-K047, awarded by the Office on Violence Against Women, U.S. Department of Justice. The opinions, findings, conclusions, and recommendations expressed in this publication/program/exhibition are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women.

Please note: this event is neither hosted by nor endorsed by the GNOHTTF. The GNOHTTF is not responsible for the content of this presentation.